By state

Security grants in Iowa: federal NSGP through HSEM, and the closed school safety fund

Iowa nonprofits apply for federal NSGP through Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management, which opens its call before FEMA publishes the federal notice. Iowa's school security fund, which covered nonpublic schools, has closed.

Updated Checked against Iowa HSEM program pages and FEMA sources on October 16, 20269 min readBy Bedrock GrantsReport a correction
Short answer

Not yet. On October 16, 2026, Iowa HSEM's FY2026 Nonprofit Security Grant Program call was closed, and HSEM says it plans to open the 2027 call "by the end of October 2026" in EMGrants (HSEM NSGP page). All of Iowa applies under NSGP-S. The School Safety Improvement Fund, which covered nonpublic schools, closed to applications December 31, 2024.

Status on October 16, 2026

Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management (HSEM) is the State Administrative Agency (SAA) for FEMA's Nonprofit Security Grant Program (NSGP). HSEM takes nonprofit applications, reviews and scores them, and submits eligible ones to FEMA, which makes the final decisions. HSEM publishes no NSGP program inbox; its main office line is 515-725-3231.

Iowa security grants for nonprofits, houses of worship and nonpublic schools, checked October 16, 2026
ProgramStatusBest next step
Federal NSGP-S (State), through HSEMFY2026 call closed. HSEM "plans to open 2027 NSGP application period by the end of October 2026" (HSEM NSGP page). FEMA has not published an FY2027 notice.Register in EMGrants now, get a Unique Entity ID (UEI), and start the site assessment so the Notice of Interest can go in when the call opens.
School Safety Improvement FundClosed. Applications ended December 31, 2024, and all work was due December 31, 2025 (HSEM). Federally funded.None. A nonprofit private school can look at NSGP.
State security grant for houses of worship or other nonprofitsNo statewide program identified (checked October 2026).Use federal NSGP.

Federal NSGP through HSEM

Iowa opens before FEMA does

HSEM opens its state call before FEMA releases the federal Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO), "to allow time for interested nonprofit organizations to complete all requirements," and so HSEM can review documents and give technical help (HSEM NSGP page). That is why the 2027 call is expected this month, while FEMA has not yet published the FY2027 notice. HSEM says its notices are posted in EMGrants.

Opening early has a consequence. HSEM starts applicants on the previous year's Investment Justification (IJ) form, and when FEMA releases the new form, applicants must move their information to it before submitting "or it will be ineligible." Rules can also change when the federal notice lands, so treat early drafts as drafts until the FY2027 NOFO is out.

How to apply in EMGrants

HSEM takes NSGP applications only through EMGrants, its online grant system, and the application "must be submitted under the nonprofit name." The page describes this sequence:

  1. Register in EMGrants.Create the organization's account and receive a password.
  2. Choose "Apply for Grant."Log in to the home page and select the NSGP opportunity.
  3. Submit a Notice of Interest (NOI).The NOI says the organization plans to apply and is a 501(c)(3).
  4. Complete the state application.Once HSEM approves the NOI, the online application and the full document checklist open in EMGrants.

The NOI is a gate. Until HSEM approves it, the organization cannot see the application or the checklist, so file it soon after the call opens. During the application period HSEM says it reviews submitted documents, gives feedback and, "when time allows," a chance to revise before scoring.

For the UEI, HSEM tells nonprofits to take the UEI-only option in SAM.gov ("Get a Unique Entity ID" rather than "Register Entity") and to use the nonprofit's legal name and physical address so HSEM can validate the number against the application. HSEM says NSGP nonprofits don't have to complete or renew a full SAM.gov entity registration, and that it validates the UEI during the application phase, so get the UEI early.

What to gather

The full checklist appears in EMGrants after NOI approval. HSEM tells applicants they can gather these items before the call opens:

  • A threat and vulnerability assessment for each site. Separate documents are preferred; a combined document must clearly separate each location, and each address must match its IJ.
  • A fillable IJ for each facility. Download it and open it in a PDF reader, not a browser. HSEM says scanned IJs "cannot be submitted and will be considered incomplete applications."
  • The IRS 501(c)(3) recognition letter. HSEM notes that houses of worship are generally exempt and may not have one, but says "having the documentation will expedite things." An organization covered by a group exemption may need to show that it falls under it.
  • UEI documentation, a budget, and a photo of the front of the building.
  • The mission statement as a standalone document; HSEM accepts Word, PDF or a website screenshot.

The federal rules behind these items are in the how-to-apply guide and the vulnerability assessment guide.

Iowa's assessment and quote rules

HSEM accepts an assessment from its Critical Infrastructure Team, the local emergency management agency, local law enforcement, a third party that specializes in assessments, or a self-assessment using the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency's tool. One condition is Iowa's own: "Iowa requires a letter of concurrence from a law enforcement agency whenever HSEM or local law enforcement did not produce the assessment." An organization using a third-party assessor or the self-assessment tool should plan time to get that letter.

For budgets, HSEM says rough or verbal estimates are fine and quotes do not have to be submitted. It warns against including "bids/quotes that specify brands, models, etc." or saying a vendor has been selected. That fits the federal procurement rules that apply after award; see procurement requirements.

One stream, and what Iowa receives

Iowa has no FY2026 urban area, so every Iowa site applies under NSGP-S. HSEM says, "All of Iowa falls under this sub-program." FEMA's FY2026 NSGP-S total federal allocation for Iowa was $2,700,000 (FY2026 NOFO, Appendix C). That figure includes HSEM's 5% for management and administration ($135,000), so the amount available for nonprofit subawards is smaller. The state lookup table uses the same total-allocation basis.

HSEM restates the federal limits: up to $200,000 for each IJ (building) and up to three sites, or $600,000, per nonprofit. It also gives its own picture of competition: "Historically, Iowa has been awarded just over 2 million dollars per year," and "On average we submit around 100 eligible applications to FEMA and have 10-15 projects awarded." HSEM reviews eligibility and completeness, compares each IJ to its assessment so FEMA knows whether the project fully, partly or does not align, and scores the IJ with FEMA's scoring tool. FEMA makes the final decisions. The NSGP program guide covers national scoring.

The HSEM page does not show the FY2026 state deadline, only that the call closed. FEMA's own deadline for SAAs was July 31, 2026 (Information Bulletin 579). For FY2027, watch EMGrants and the HSEM page for the dates; NSGP deadlines tracks state dates as they are published.

After selection in Iowa

HSEM notifies every applicant through EMGrants, selected or not, about one week after the state receives FEMA's award letter. HSEM says that letter generally arrives by September 30, so applicants "should hear something by the second week of October." FEMA announced FY2026 awards on September 28, 2026 (FEMA). We could not confirm whether HSEM has sent FY2026 notices, because they appear inside EMGrants.

The HSEM page sets out what follows. The primary contact signs the award acceptance and the Grant Terms and Conditions. The organization then works with HSEM to submit the environmental and historic preservation (EHP) review application and clear any holds. HSEM holds a risk compliance meeting after signing and a Notice to Proceed meeting once holds are removed and EHP is approved, and it assigns a Project Officer as the main contact.

Several Iowa rules shape the budget and schedule:

  • No early work. "Any work started prior to being award[ed] and the project opened by HSEM will be ineligible for reimbursement."
  • Reimbursement, no match. "NSGP is a reimbursement grant, so awarded organizations must pay eligible costs before requesting reimbursement. No matching funds are required." Requests go through EMGrants.
  • Holds stop payment. If an open project goes on hold, usually for missing reports, "no reimbursement payments can be processed."
  • State dates, not federal. HSEM sets an earlier end date than FEMA's period of performance and tells applicants to use the state dates for IJ milestones.
  • Changes need approval first. Budget and scope changes, "if allowed," must be pre-approved, and key personnel changes must be reported.

The national steps are in after the award, EHP review and reimbursement requests.

Iowa's school safety fund

In June 2022, Iowa's Governor announced a $100 million school safety initiative "for Iowa's public school districts and nonpublic and independent schools" (HSEM School Safety Improvement Fund page). HSEM ran it with the Iowa Department of Public Safety and the Iowa Department of Education. The money came from the federal American Rescue Plan Act and the Elementary and Secondary School Emergency Relief Fund, so this was a federally funded program administered by the state.

The initiative paid for facility vulnerability assessments, done from July 2022 to January 2023, along with digital critical-incident mapping and other items. Its capital grants, through the School Safety Improvement Fund, paid up to $50,000 per eligible school building for improvements the assessment recommended. By the end of state fiscal year 2025, HSEM reports 431 district or system applications awarded. Applications closed December 31, 2024, and all outstanding work was due December 31, 2025. The page says, "Applications are no longer accepted." It gives no detailed eligibility rules for nonpublic schools and refers questions to HSEM by email.

We found no new round and no other open state school security grant. HSEM's school safety page lists planning tools, the Safe + Sound Iowa tip line and free active-shooter training, not grants. A nonprofit private or religious school can apply for NSGP if its legal entity qualifies; see private and religious school security grants.

Programs compared

Iowa security funding for nonprofits and private schools compared, checked October 16, 2026
ItemNSGP (federal)School Safety Improvement Fund
AdministratorHSEM as SAA; FEMA makes final selectionsHSEM, with the Departments of Public Safety and Education
Funding sourceFEMAFederal ARPA and ESSER funds
Who could apply501(c)(3) nonprofits, including houses of worship and nonprofit schools, at high risk of terrorist or extremist attackPublic school districts and nonpublic and independent schools
Allowable usesPlanning, listed equipment, training and exercises, contracted security (allowable costs)Capital improvements identified in the assessment
Maximum$200,000 per site, three sites, $600,000 per nonprofit (FY2026)$50,000 per eligible school building
MatchNoneNot stated on the HSEM page
Payment modelReimbursement through EMGrantsNot stated on the HSEM page
StatusFY2026 closed; 2027 call planned by the end of October 2026 (HSEM)Closed; applications ended December 31, 2024
Official sourceHSEM NSGP pageHSEM fund page

Official documents

If HSEM issues a newer notice, checklist or instruction than these, the newer document controls. The FY2027 notice and checklist will appear in EMGrants.

Iowa security grant documents, checked October 16, 2026
DocumentCoversUse it for
HSEM NSGP pageNSGP in IowaStatus, EMGrants and NOI steps, UEI, documents, concurrence letter, post-award rules
EMGrantsAll HSEM grantsRegistration, open grants, NOI, application, notices, reimbursement
FEMA FY2026 NSGP NOFOFY2026 NSGPFederal eligibility, disqualifiers, limits, allocations (Appendix C)
School Safety Improvement Fund page2022 school safety initiativeFunding source, $50,000 limit, closing dates
HSEM school safety pageSchool safety resourcesPlanning tools, tip line, training

Other states' agencies and programs are in the state lookup table.

Last checked and change log

Last checked: October 16, 2026, against HSEM's NSGP, School Safety Improvement Fund and school safety pages, and FEMA's FY2026 NOFO, Information Bulletin 579 and September 28, 2026 announcement. We did not log in to EMGrants.

  • October 2026: Page published. FY2026 NSGP call closed in Iowa; HSEM plans to open the 2027 call by the end of October 2026. School Safety Improvement Fund closed. No statewide program for houses of worship or other nonprofits was identified in this review.

Sources

  1. Iowa HSEM, Nonprofit Security Grant Program (NSGP) page
  2. Iowa HSEM, School Safety Improvement Fund
  3. Iowa HSEM, School Safety program page
  4. Iowa HSEM, EMGrants
  5. FEMA, FY2026 Nonprofit Security Grant Program NOFO
  6. FEMA, Information Bulletin 579: FY2026 NSGP deadline extension to July 31, 2026 (July 17, 2026)
  7. FEMA press release, $300 million to houses of worship and other nonprofits (September 28, 2026)

Not sure which security grants fit?

Tell us about your organization. We’ll give you a free preliminary read on which security grants may fit, what they could pay for, and what applying involves. The administering agency makes the final eligibility call.